Recent Changes in Your Insurance Claim
Florida residents may not be fully aware of some recent changes to the state’s no-fault insurance law.
Since 1973, Florida has had a system of no-fault auto insurance, meaning that injured victims are entitled to compensation regardless of who caused the accident. The system is designed to streamline the claims and review process and quickly deliver insurance payments where these payments need to go. House Bill 119 (HB119) significantly changed the no-fault law. Although the new changes only took effect in January 2013, Central Florida accident attorneys are already noticing some significant changes.
Deadline to file new claims
If an injured party does not seek treatment with a MEDICAL DOCTOR within 14 days of the accident, that person may lose the right to seek compensation for their medical expenses from their own insurance company. Immediately after you have suffered an accident, you should contact an attorney. This attorney may be able to get you in to see a doctor right away, even if you have no money and no medical insurance. An effective doctor can help you get the ongoing treatment that you need to fully recover from your injuries and create the proper records to present to the at-fault party or their insurance companies.
Those who wish to seek a non-medical or homeopathic alternative for treatment of their injuries may be out of luck. Massage therapists and acupuncturists are specifically excluded, and chiropractors may only be reimbursed up to $2,500. Occupational therapists, podiatrists and, basically, all non-medical doctor providers are either limited or excluded.
Seek the advice of a qualified local attorney to learn more about HB119 and how it affects your family.